Bergen Catholic beats Delbarton to win third straight championship.

On Tuesday night at MetLife Stadium, the Crusaders defeated Delbarton 24-14 to win their third straight Non-Public A title.

“Everything we put into this, everything we fought for, it all paid off,” Crusaders senior and two-way star Kaj Sanders said.

At halftime, the score was 14–14. In the second half, Bergen Catholic, ranked first in the state for non-public schools, held Delbarton, ranked second, scoreless.

Bergen Catholic (11-1) added a 20-yard field goal by junior Guy Bartolomeo with 3:12 left in the fourth quarter to lead 24-14. A poor snap stopped him from attempting a 31-yard field goal and caused the Crusaders' only turnover, an interception.

Sanders' 11-yard touchdown run gave the Crusaders a 21-14 lead in the third quarter closing minute. After sophomore defensive lineman Benjamin Carey recovered a botched Delbarton snap, his TD finished an 8-play, 64-yard drive.

First quarter: Bergen Catholic led 14-0 after two drives. Bernie Sanders led 7-0 on a 10-yard run. At the Bergen Catholic 47-yard line, junior defensive lineman Delaney Fludd intercepted a deflected ball and set up sophomore Dante Kain's 2-yard TD reception from Dominic Campanile.

Junior Phillip Folmar's 12- and 1-yard TD runs drove Delbarton to a 14-14 halftime tie. He scored his second touchdown with 11 seconds left in the second quarter to finish a 6:47, 17-play drive from the Green Wave 8-yard line.

Delbarton coach Brian Bowers said, “We took a couple of punches, they’re a great football team, well-coached, and, hey, three-time champs. However, we believed that momentum would put us in good shape.

Stay tuned for developments.